My Version of Great Grandma Legault’s Banana Bread

egg
This one is from my mother’s mother’s mother. Bananas that are black and soft and super ripe are very important for this bread. Freckled is OK, but you will be much happier if you use the blackest. All the starches in the banana have converted to sugar, and you will get the best flavor. And who wants tasteless dry banana bread? Not me! On the same note, don’t skip the salt, it brings out the banana-y-ness. Trust me, you will miss it.
If you don’t have the time to wait, put the freckled banans in the freezer for an afternoon, it will speed up the process.
I have no pictures ’cause its hotter than tarnation, and though I love you, I refuse to turn on my oven.
 
 Makes one large loaf:
 
1/2 cup shortening
1 cup sugar plus more for sprinkling.
3 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
2 cups flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp ground allspice
1/4 tsp ground clove
1/4 tsp ground ginger
5 or 6 overripe bananas (must be black!!)
1/2 cup walnuts, if you like nuts
 
Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and grease and flour your loaf pan.

Cream together the sugar and shortening. Add the eggs one at a time, beating well between each one. Mash up the banans (if you want some nice rustic chunks, mash lightly) and mix into the wet ingredients with the vanilla.

In a separate bowl sift together the dry ingredients and add to the wet mixture. Do not over mix. Gently stir in nuts, if desired.

Pour into a loaf pan. Sprinkle some sugar on the top of the batter, along with some nuts if you like em.

Bake for one hour. Allow to cool, turn out the loaf and enjoy! It tastes even better the next day. If it lasts that long.

3 thoughts on “My Version of Great Grandma Legault’s Banana Bread

  1. You gave me this recipe (decades ago! Can you imagine?), and it’s still the one I use exclusively.

    (At the time of this reply, it is currently the middle of winter. Get Baking!)

  2. Pingback: Aqua Addiction | FlorrieMarie

Leave a comment...